Search Committee for the
Executive Vice Dean for Research/Chief Scientific Officer

A search advisory committee has been named to identify recommended candidates for the position of Executive Vice Dean, Research/Chief Scientific Officer of the U-M Medical School. The search committee received their charge from Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean, Marschall Runge, M.D., Ph.D., to present an unranked slate of recommended candidates at the end of their process. 

This is an important search and the committee welcomes support and feedback. Please send comments, inquiries and nominations to the Russell Reynolds Associates consultants for the search, Ilene Nagel and Jett Pihakis at

John Ayanian, M.D., MPP

John Z. Ayanian, MD, MPP
Committee Chair
Alice Hamilton Professor of Medicine, Medical School; Director, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation


Harry Mobley, Ph.D.

Harry L.T. Mobley, PhD
Committee Co-Chair
Frederick G. Novy Distinguished University Professor & Chair of Microbiology & Immunology

Huda Akil, Ph.D

Huda Akil, PhD
Gardner Quarton Distinguished University Professor of Neuroscience & Psychiatry; Co-Director and Senior Research Professor of the Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience Institute

Carol Bradford, MD

Carol R. Bradford, MD
Charles J. Krause MD Collegiate Professor and Chair of Otolaryngology

Arul Chinnaiyan, M.D.

Arul M. Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD
Director, Michigan Center for Translational Pathology; S.P. Hicks Endowed Professor of Pathology; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; American Cancer Society Research Professor; Professor of Urology

James Dalton, Ph.D.

James T. Dalton, PhD
Dean and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

James Engel, Ph.D.

James Douglas Engel, PhD
G. Carl Huber Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology

David Ginsburg, M.D.

David Ginsburg, MD
James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics; Research Professor, Life Sciences Institute; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Sachin Kheterpal, M.D., MBA

Sachin Kheterpal, MD, MBA
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology;
Director, Multicenter Perioperative Outcomes Group (MPOG); Director, Anesthesiology Performance Improvement and Reporting Exchange (ASPIRE)

Ormond MacDougald, Ph.D.

Ormond A. MacDougald, PhD
John A. Faulkner Collegiate Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology and Professor of Internal Medicine

George Mashour, M.D., Ph.D.

George A. Mashour, MD, PhD
Associate Dean for Clinical & Translational Research; Director, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research; Director, Center for Consciousness Science; Bert N. La Du Professor of Anesthesiology Research

Juanita Merchant, M.D., Ph.D.

Juanita L. Merchant, MD, PhD
H. Marvin Pollard Professor of Gastrointestinal Sciences; Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Janet Smith, Ph.D

Janet L. Smith, PhD
Margaret J. Hunter Collegiate Professor of Life Sciences and Professor of Biological Chemistry